All thing Disney · Running

26.2 Magical Miles Around The World Part 1 Expo


I’m finally able to take the time and reflect on one of the most amazing weekends of my LIFE,  “The Walt Disney World Marathon Weekend”! I decided to break down each day because there is so much excitement I didn’t want to cram it all into one post!

This was a family affair, my husband and I both ran our first full marathons, and my two daughters participated in the kids races.  We arrived in Orlando on Friday morning after a crazy scare of almost missing our flight! (another long story for another day) We hopped aboard the Magical Express (Disney’s complementary transportation from the airport) to our home for the weekend, Disney’s Animal Kingdom Jambo House! Upon arrival our room was not ready yet, so we left our bags at bell services and then took the shuttle straight for the expo!

image

(Raven’s First Plane Ride)

The expo was being held at the Wide World of Sports ESPN. My husband was really looking forward to checking this place out, he has seen some big games held here on TV.

image

image

 

We were starving at this point and decided before we head to pick up our packets to grab some lunch.  So sat down at a quick service grill inside the Josten’s Center.  After grub we headed to the packet pick up and merchandise buildings!  Pick up for bibs and shirts was really simple and easy!  We played around at some vendor’s booths and took some pictures. I got to meet Jeff Galloway and try on the RunDisney New Balance shoes 2016 editions.  I was even able to snag some cool swag from the official RunDisney merchandise tent.  You only get one first marathon , so I splurged a bit.

image

image

image

(2016 Rundisney New Balance Shoes, I’m an Asics girl, no Rundisney shoes for me!)

(Race shirt, and some merchandise I picked up)

After hanging at the expo  a few hours we headed back to our room which was finally ready and relaxed around the resort and ate dinner the Mara Café.

 

 

Next up part 2: Kids Races!

 

Leave a Reply

