Events · Health and Fitness · Running · weight loss

Running Season is Upon Us!


I have a hand full of 5ks coming up! My first is the Black Girls Run! virtual 5k on March 28th. This one I will use as my test 5K, to kind of see where I’m at to meet my goal of under or at 38 minutes.

Next there’s the  Go! St. Louis race on April 11th, which I mention previously in my post were I plan to make a 5k PR time!

Then, I have The Color Run 5k on April 18th , which I’m really looking forward to because it’s going to be fun run with glitter and color splashing all over me! I don’t have a goal pace in mind for that one, just to go out and have fun.

May 2nd is my first RunDisney race!! Expedition Everest Challenge, a 5k with obstacles and a scavenger hunt.  Planning to drive down to Disney on April 30th and return May 4th, making that one into a mini vacation!

And finally my last one before the summer, Run Like a Diva 5K in Branson, MO. This one I’m doing with my best friend, it will be her first 5k. This race has an unique theme, before crossing the finish you get a boa and a tiara, and once you cross you get a glass of bubbly! The medal is gorgeous as well.

Each one of these race has some bling! I can’t wait to fill up my medal rack!

My training has got off to a good start, this past week I had one bad run, but I didn’t beat myself up. I only had one rest day when I’m use to having at least three. I feel pretty good though, not burned out or overworked. So I plan on keeping up that momentum. Today I did my first speed work out. It consisted of 5 x 400, which is running a lap and your goal pace minus 15 sec. It was challenging, but I made it through, I feel I did good my first time. I also ran just under a 37 min 5k on Monday, but I pushed myself way too hard, and had chest pains and muscle aches something  terrible after that one, lol. But it did make me feel confident that the goal I set for myself is realistic.

So bring on the races! I’m really excited about Spring!

I hope you were inspired. “There’s Magic in Believing”

Leave a Reply

