Health and Fitness · Running

Turning up the heat!


Ok , I have accomplished my goal of running a full 5K, now I want to PR my time. My fastest 5k was 38:41, but I was doing walk run intervals. My fastest 5K since I’ve been running the whole distance is just under 42 minutes. Now I’m trying to keep in mind that my race pace will be faster and If I run the course strategically, I can most likely meet my goal of under 38 min. My race is April 11th. I have about 5 weeks to shave off 3 minutes.

My husband mentioned to me I should take the walks break since I’m faster, but I know it will do something to my ego.  I really want to run the whole thing, and I want a PR. Both are equally important at this point, so it’s time for me to kick it in high gear. I have been doing some Fartleks, but I’m finding after the first mile I’m really tired so the remainder of my run I’m struggling to keep time. I plan to cut down my time of  Fartleks, from 3 minute to about 1- 1 1/2  minutes, while also working in some  speedwork at the track with 400 meter sprints.

I found a good strength training workout routine for runners, and will also continue doing T25 on cross training days. I will have 1 rest day, 6 work out days! I almost took the easy route and just said I will take the walk breaks. But I really wanna push myself to see what I’m capable off. I just hope I’m not setting myself up for failure, lol. So stay tuned! If you have any tips for me please feel free to share them!

 

Be Inspired, There’s Magic in Believing.

Leave a Reply

