Health and Fitness · Running

Back On Track


First I would like to apologize for the lack of keeping my schedule of posting once a week. I have just been so busy, I was sick, and just wasn’t motivated to post. Well it’s time for me get back on track! Last time I posted in regards to my running journey, I had completed a bad run. Well the next day I got out there and I completed the 2.75 miles non stop! But then I got sick, motherly duties intervened and I got behind. So I had to repeat week 7 of C25k. On this past Sat, Valentine’s Day, I graduated from C25k and ran 3.1 miles in 42 min 15 sec!

imageimage

Although I my goal was to completed in under 40 min I was extremely proud because I actually caught a cramp in my side and had to slow my pace almost to walk, but I kept going! I learned from one of my fellow Black Girls Run member that it could have been because I didn’t hydrate enough before my run. I have a bad habit of not drinking enough water. So from now on I’m going to make it a point to hydrate properly. I also decided to reward myself with a medal! I registered for a virtual race, and they had the perfect medal! It read “Believe in yourself and may all your dreams come true!”

image

Also, I finally purchased myself a medal rack! I was going to make one for myself, but while in Michael’s looking for materials they had one on sale for 50% off, it was cheaper than the material I was going to buy to make my own! Take a look, what do you think? I can’t wait to fill It up with beautiful medals! I love the pin board in the middle, I can hang bibs or pictures there.

image

What’s Next ?

I have a 5k race on April 11th the Go! St. louis race. It’s a big race weekend that also has a half and full marathon. I  want to run it under or at 35 minutes. So I started a coaching plan on the Nike + app, it a plan to help me increase my pace by incorporating speed runs and hill training. So far I’ve only completed the 3 mile run that incorporates Fartlek (periods of time running at faster pace followed by time period of running at a slower pace). It was very challenging, and I took a break after each mile. I am very excited about completing this plan and seeing the results!

I am still doing the squats and planks challenges, and I’m loving those results (so is my husband 😉). I’ll post those here in case your interested in trying them.

imageimage

So that’s all I have for now, but I have few post lined up and I should be able to get back on schedule. Thanks you reading and I hope you were inspired!  Remember… “There’s Magic in Believing”

Leave a Reply

