Holiday Tips and tricks

Happy Turkey Day, Gobble Gobble!


So sorry for the late post this week, it has been a very busy and emotional one for me. But anywhoo,  I can’t believe it’s Thanksgiving already!! My the time has flown this year. So how does your family celebrate this holiday? Do you eat at home or go out for some fine dining? Well, before my grandmother past away the family would all meet at her house for good old fashion southern cooking, mmmmm. But, now since she’s gone we kinda wing it each year. Some times we go out of town or rotate to a family member’s home. This year it’s at my house, oooh boy,  it’s a first and might I mention I’m not the best cook. So while I’m very excited to host my first Thanksgiving, I’m very nervous as well.

Other than eat, we don’t usually do anything special. In the past we would go through the sales papers and map out our plan for Black Friday shopping, but now it’s practically Black Thursday, so we will not be participating this year. I plan to put up the Christmas tree after dinner and I think that will be fun to do as a family. So just a day of relaxation and enjoying time with my family. I have also registered for a 5k Turkey Trot race Thanksgiving morning! Great way to get ahead of all those calories I am sure to consume later that day.

So here’s what’s on my menu:

Appetizers:

Deviled Eggs – www.devilededggs.com

Main Entrée :

Dressing, Baked Mac N Cheese, Sweet Potatoes, Collard Greens

Dessert:

Caramel Cake , www.kathryngreeleydesigns.com/blog/2012/02/my-grandmother-crisps-caramel-cake/

German Chocolate Cake onsugarmountain.com/2013/10/30/german-chocolate-cake/

I don’t have the recipes written down for the main entrées, but if you want them leave a comment. I’m also going to try to make these

fall popCourtesy of a Instagram friend, Uhleeya.

Please share with me what your family plans to do for this  for Thanksgiving! Thanks for reading and I hope you were inspired

Leave a Reply

